The 63rd Annual Conference of Metallurgists

Monday, August 19 – Thursday, August 22, 2024

Halifax Convention Centre, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

COM 2024

MetSoc of CIM invites you to participate in the 63rd Annual Conference of Metallurgists.


Become a Sponsor

Sponsorship is a key aspect, making it possible for the MetSoc of CIM to continue to offer programming and education to our community.


Plenary and Panel Discussions

COM 2024 will feature a number of plenary and penal discussions. As well as bringing back the “Big Ideas” session.


  • Advanced Manufacturing and Materials VII
  • Arsenic/Minor Element Controls in Metallurgical Plants

  • Corrosion and Environmental Degradation of Materials
  • Electrometallurgy for a Net Zero Economy

  • Extractive Metallurgy from Conception to Operation: Experimentation, Simulation, Pilot and Ramp-up

  • International Biohydrometallurgy Symposium 2024

  • Joe Ferron Memorial Symposium – Processing of Critical Materials

  • Light Metals for Transportation: Marine, Aviation, and Ground Applications

  • WALSIM X: Water, Air, Land Sustainability Issues in Mining and Metal Extraction

Learn more about the symposia


  • Call for abstracts Open
  • Abstract submissions due January 5, 2024
  • Abstract decisions (Oral presentations) January 22, 2024
  • Draft paper deadline  March 1, 2024
  • Registration opens April 15, 2024
  • Final paper due April 15, 2024
  • Author registration due May 15, 2024

Sign up for our newsletter

MetSoc is a constituent society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM).


Social feed

Organizing Committee

Conference Chair

Dimitrios Filippou
Rio Tinto Iron & Titanium


Julie Lévesque
Centre de métallurgie du Québec

Student Activities Chair

Ali Nasiri
Dalhousie University

Industrial Tours Chair

Stephen Corbin
Dalhousie University

Sponsorship Chair

Nils Voermann

Technical Program Chair

Mohsen Mohammadi

Show Management

Brigitte Farah
Conference Management
Victoria Di Woo
Digital Design Specialist & Administration
Janice Burke
Editorial Coordinator

Metallurgy Symposium Chairs

Niels Verbaan
Vladimiros Papangelakis
George P. Demopoulos
Georges Houlachi
Alessandro Navarra
Chris Pickles

Materials Symposium Chairs

Bosco Yu
Suraj Persaud
Mohsen Mohammadi